Skip to content
Options

NeoDio

Comments

• Options
    Yes, why?
  • Options
    I thought you are using neo transport too but I cannot see it in your photo...pls share more
  • Options
    Marvel,

I am no expert in equipment like your good self. It is very difficult for a vinyl guy to spend so much on a digital source. My last CD source was Linn CD 12 and I sold it in 1999. Ever since, there is not one single digital based system that touches me to the point of owning it, especially after the ownership of Da Vinci LP system. The Zanden 2000p/5000s at one point, I said to myself - "not bad" but my heart was not touched until the Vekian suite. Because I am a frequent concert goer, the Vekian has the ability to recreate a concert hall experience especially on concerto, and orchestral music. And I have to say there is probably no CD source that can come close to the reproduction of piano closest to what I heard from the concert hall. It touches me but it is too expensive for this old man to swallow.

Then, comes the Neodio. Most of my favorite classical recordings are the old Decca CDs. When they were played through at PT's Cessaro Beta system, I was shocked by the revelation of tonal colors of different instruments. In comparison to his Zanden source, I felt the musicality of it was achieved by Yamada san's genius sound tuning techniques and the smoothness of tubes due to 2nd order distortion in general but it is unable to reveal as much as tonal color as the Neodio particularly in the lower mid bass region where the Neodio reigns as King of the Universe in terms of tonal color, dynamics and vibrancy. The tonality of gunerai is easily distinguished from that of Del Gesu etc....

I don't know how to comment the quality of the transport independently but as a combo, it satisfies my soul.
  • Options