Skip to content

Thales Simplicity 2

Hi, I am a newbie in this forum, however, have been checking out this forum for a few months since I met PT and visited AE showroom. Really mind opening experience to know this AE group exist.
Soon after the visit, I bought the used Dalby record clamp, even it is insanely expensive to me even used, and Tim reference IC for my humble Goldmund setup. Then soon after…. Tim reference signature IC, Tim reference PC, Troy and Simplicity 2. All this upgrade accessories really perfected my current setup that I am really enjoy music and a happy man.

Met PT yesterday and told me that I am the first user of Thales Simplicity 2 in Hong Kong. Cause I am the first one who install it soon after I got it from the first batches. So he wants me to write a review on this arm. So here I am. Having my first post in AE forum on reviewing an arm.

I was hesitate to do so actually. Reason is simple. People in this forum are crazy!!!
And another thing is my Hifi experience is quite limited; only 2.5 year. And my first bought hifi setup was B&O. Moreover, this is only my second arm in life. Unlike all the people here have spend all their life knowing what is good or bad, so who am I to write a review on an arm. Anyway, I will try my best.
Before start review, need to give some info on my current setup.
Simplicity 2 with Lyra Altas, Phono is Lyra connoisseur 4.2p SE, Simon Yorke S7 turntable and goldmund Pre 22m and amp 29.4m and Epilogue 1+2. CMS rack.

Since my first arm is Triplannar, so it is a unfair comparison actually. Cause simplicity2 win by miles in all aspects.