Skip to content

Audition of Da Vinci Grandezza

I am just a freshman in the hi-fi world but I am honored to be invited as the world first listener of the Da Vinci Grandezza system. The audition was done yesterday in the AE showroom.

The first song played was Sara K. The voice of Sara K was crystal and stood out clearly from the background. The soundstage was deep and wide. Yet the background guitar was found a little bit blurred. The recording of the CD was believed to be the suspect. Another CD with vocal and guitar (sorry, can’t recall what it was) was then played to isolate the situation. All the imperfectness on the guitar sound was vanished in this playing. I particularly admired the performance of Da Vinci Grandezza when it played the “err” sound generated by the guitar. The sound was just so lively and concrete.

Then the most exciting part came. Two cuts of opera were played. The first one was a tenor solo while the second a tenor and soprano duet. The sound was absolutely transparent. I could distinguish without any difficulty the tenor, the soprano and the background music even they appeared at the same time. Detailed parts like the breath of the tenor before he delivered a high note or the vibration of the throat of the soprano were illustrated without any ambiguity. Sound was so harmonious that I really sensed the rapport between the two singers. I was deeply stunned by the performance. Five thumbs up. I was told that the manufacturer of Da Vinci Grandezza was an opera enthusiast. No wonder the system was designed particularly optimal for opera playing.